UCC, UEW, others operations in Nigeria banned over degree scandal

A total of eighteen international universities are under official scrutiny in Nigeria; they have been branded as “degree mills” and Nigerians are advised not to enlist in them.

The National Universities Commission (NUC) imposed the embargo, which also affects universities in adjacent nations including Togo and Benin. The United States has five universities affected, while the United Kingdom has six.

The NUC made it clear in an official statement posted on its website that the impacted universities had been closed because they did not have the required federal government licence.

According to the statement, “The National Universities Commission wishes to announce to the general public, especially parents and prospective undergraduates that the under-listed ‘degree mills’ have not been licensed by the Federal Government and have therefore been closed down for violating the Education (National Minimum Standards, etc.) Act of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004.”

This action is a reaction to a journalist’s investigative article that exposed dishonest practices in the conferment of degrees by Benin and Togo institutions. The Daily Nigerian exposé exposed a thriving certificate racketeering gang that offered university degrees to interested purchasers in Nigeria, especially in adjacent African countries.

The undercover investigation described how a reporter paid a “reasonable rate” to earn a university degree from Cotonou in less than six weeks.

ALSO READ: JHS students likely to write BECE without access to any textbook – Kofi Asare

According to the transcript and diploma, the reporter allegedly started the programme in 2018 and graduated on September 5, 2022, using the official scan code of Ecole Superieure de Gestion et de Technologies, ESGT, Benin Republic.

Below are the 18 universities affected by the Nigerian government’s ban:

1. University of Applied Sciences and Management, Port Novo, Republic of Benin.

2. Volta University College, Ho, Volta Region, Ghana.

3. The International University, Missouri, USA, with study centers in Kano and Lagos.

4. Columbus University, UK.

5. Tiu International University, UK.

6. Pebbles University, UK.

7. London External Studies UK.

8. Pilgrims University.

9. West African Christian University.

10. EC-Council University, USA, Ikeja Lagos Study Centre.

11. Concept College/Universities (London), Ilorin.

12. Houdegbe North American University.

13. Irish University Business School London.

14. University of Education, Winneba, Ghana.

15. Cape Coast University, Ghana.

16. African University Cooperative Development, Cotonou, Benin Republic.

17. Pacific Western University, Denver, Colorado, Owerri Study Centre.

18. Evangel University of America and Chudick Management Academic, Lagos.

Join our WHATSAPP GROUP and TELEGRAM CHANNEL to get all relevant teaching resources to make your lessons effective.

Subscribe to this blog and follow us on facebook



Teacher, Blogger, Comic writer, riveting stories concerning the Ghanaian citizenry and the world at large.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button